Florida Amphetamine or Methamphetamine Minimum Mandatory Law

Florida Statute § 893.135  Amphetamine or Methamphetamine Minimum Mandatory Sentences

Florida laws on Amphetamine or Methamphetamine provide harsh minimum mandatory sentences that kick-in at 14 grams. The stakes become higher when 28 grams are alleged and proven by admissible evidence to a jury and/or sentencing judge in Florida State Courts. A 15 year minimum prison sentence is possible at 200 grams.

The United States Code also provides harsh sentences for trafficking in this controlled substance. At 50 grams a life sentence is possible for certain defendants.See 21 USC §§ 841(a), 841(b)(1)(A); § 2D1.1  for more information.

Amphetamine or methamphetamine

14 – 28 grams
3 years, $50,000 fine

28 – 200 grams
7 years, $100,000 fine


200+ grams

15 years, $250,000 fine